Reviews

50 Favorites 2022- 2023

Birmingham Restaurants Annual Best of the Best Awards Coming in December!

The Big Reveal
 
Tonight, we get a taste of FOOD+Culture’s plans, including its annual festival. 
 
By Jan Walsh 
 

Food is what we all have in common. And at tonight’s launch of FOOD+Culture we learn more about upcoming supporting events and FOOD+Culture’s Festival planned for October 2023. Afterwards the food and cultural festival will be held annually. Here Birmingham chefs, restaurants, food media, makers, growers, distillers, and brewers will have the opportunity to share their cultures, talents, and stories with the world. 
 

BR App V2

Birmingham Restaurants App upgraded with content rich tabs! 
Download or Update 

 

 

 

 

Private Restaurant 
 
GianMarco’s private events are back!
 
By Jan Walsh 
 

One of the many good times we missed over the past two years are private events at GianMarco’s Restaurant. I had Kevin’s surprise birthday dinner party in the former event space a few years ago. And it could not have been a better night, one of the best of our lives! With their event pro, Courtney Fitzpatrick’s assistance, I selected the menu from among his favorite dishes at GianMarco's, wines we love, and an open bar. She helped me select the size of the floral arrangements from my choice of Piggly Wiggly Floral. And I sat back with no worries, other than he might find out before his birthday. 

Looming Large 

Tasting TBL is our newest member. And Frenchies is up next!

In 2020, NYC’s celebrated chefs, Tyler and Jennifer Lyne made Hoover their home. And their supper club, Tasting TBL is the newest Member of Birmingham Restaurants + App (profile under development). Meanwhile the Lynes are also underway with a new French restaurant, Frenchies, in the former Rucker House location in Southside. Frenchies will have service from breakfast until late night, as well as boasting a patisserie, delivery, catering, private events. The couple also has plans for an upscale steakhouse, like none other. It will be located downtown Birmingham, in the previous location of a meat processing facility, Armour and Company, on 1st Avenue North. Both future restaurants will also become Member Restaurants of Birmingham Restaurants. We have so much to look forward to! And Auburn fans will be delighted to learn that Chef Tyler will be the inaugural chef-in-residence at 1856. This is the new teaching restaurant in the Tony and Libba Rane Culinary Science Center at Auburn University, which we have all been eagerly anticipating for too long. 

Birmingham Restaurants App 

Launched!

Download at App Store or Google Play. 

In The News 

WVTM 13 Features Birmingham Restaurants App! 

 

 

Birmingham Restaurants App 

Get sneak peek. Launch this week!

How To Order Online? 

Visit Restaurant Profle.  

Click Order Online Link.  

Weekly News & Events 

Wine & Dine Weekly is our newsletter, which has been published since 2006 in partnership with BirminghamWine.com. Originally it was Wine Weekly until we launched Birmingham Restaurants in 2007. You many sign up on our Homepage to receive Wine & Dine Weekly via email. 

 

Birmingham Restaurants App
 
Coming soon to Apple App Store and Google Play!

By Jan Walsh 
 
To celebrate our 15th Anniversary, we are developing and launching Birmingham Restaurants App! Soon you will be able to download it from the Apple App Store and Google Play. 

Staying Power

Bottega Café reopens on 15th Anniversary of Birmingham Restaurants.

By Jan Walsh

As Bottega Café reopens for today, March 1, 2022, I am the first person in the door. With hugs from Pardis and The Staple Singers playing overhead, I hum along, “I know a place, ya’ll… I’ll take you there…” Just being back here is a memorable, instantly uplifting experience.

15 Fulfilling Years
 
Birmingham Restaurants celebrates 15th Anniversary!

By Jan Walsh

Photography by Beau Gustafson and Jan Walsh 

On March 1, 2007, I launched BirminghamRestaurants.com. An unintentional pioneer of the local internet, I became back in the early (www) wild, wild, web days, when most businesses did not have a website—including restaurants. When we launched, Twitter was less than a year old. And Facebook had become a public site less than six months prior.
 

Coming Soon!

Bottega Cafe reopens March 1, 2022. 

Just like old times, Bottega Cafe will not take reservations after it reopens. New hours will be Tuesday through Saturday, 11:00 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. 

It's Back!

Everybody loves Valentine Hotline

Valentine Hotline is an subscription newsletter that sends new Valentine's menus and specials to your inbox as they are published. 

 

Chef Partner 

Blueprint on 3rd names new partner. 

Owner, operator of Blueprint on 3rd announces new business partnership with Executive Chef, James Huckaby. Chef Huckaby has served as executive chef since it opened and has contributed much to the success of the restaurant.

50 Favorites 2021-2022

Awards will be announced January 1, 2022!

GianMarco's Kylie Needs Help 

Kylie is our friend and a familiar face at Gianmarco’s. 

In 2020 while expecting twins, Kylie learned that she had a brain tumor. Unfortunately, they could not perform the operation to remove it at that time because she was pregnant. Kylie’s beautiful twins were born three weeks ago. Before her scheduled surgery, she collapsed and was rushed into emergency brain surgery to remove the tumor and relieve the pressure on her brain.

Food Warriors 2021

Birmingham Member Restaurants overcame 2020, surviving into 2021.

By Jan Walsh

A year ago, my only complaint about restaurants in Birmingham was that there were too many new openings. Our “food city” was drawing new restaurants at an unsustainable rate, cutting the pie of Birmingham metro’s restaurant market into too many small pieces. Yet I predicted the strong would survive. Little did I know how strong they would have to become to survive the year.

Thanksgiving Menus 

The joy of not cooking Thanksgiving!

Thanksgivings at Galley and Garden are a tradition for many. And in 2020 the legacy lives on. Galley and Garden will be open for Thanksgiving. Chef James Boyce has a special pre fixe price, three course, Thanksgiving Menu.

Coming Soon! 

New member restaurants The Yard and Moon Shine at Elyton Hotel

We are always excited to announce new member restaurants. And soon to come will be the Elyton Hotel's eateries: The Yard and Moon Shine. Moon Shine is currently open for dinner and drinks. The Yard will reopen September 18 with an accomplished new executive chef, Chris Moore. 

 

Alabama Mask Mandate Extended

Must wear face covering when entering restaurants. Expires December 11. 

Pizzeria GM's Lobster BLT Special + Lunch Resumes at GianMarco's

By Jan Walsh 

I caught the Lobster BLT special on Friday at Pizzeria GM. Highly recommeended! I will be writing a review of our lunch there and of our recent dinner at GianMarco's next week. That said, Pizzeria GM decided to fly in more lobster, and make the sandwich special go another week! So catch it soon before it is gone. 

Birmingham Restaurants Open. We are there!

Most restaurants are now open on patio, dining room, or both.
 

Birmingham Restaurants Open. We are there!

Many of our restaurants are now open on patio, dining room or both. 

Many restaurants remain open, offering curbside to go and area delivery.

By Jan Walsh 

As long as Birmingham Restaurants member restaurants are open and open for curb, I will be there and will be ordering curb and delivery! 

Supporting Birmingham Restaurants During Shutdown

Many restaurants, including fine dining, have begun carryout and curbside pick-up. You may order online or call in. Some chefs are creating adjusting menus to create at home meals that travel well. And your take home meal just got better with Alabama Beverage Commission (ABC) authorized emergency powers to allow restaurants and bars to give people the option of ordering alcohol to go, temporarily. 

 

Supporting Birmingham Restaurants’ Servers, During Shutdown

By Jan Walsh

Beginning Tuesday, March 17, Jefferson County restaurants, bars, and breweries cannot allow the consumption of food or beverages on their premises for one week. This shutdown is due to the evolving COVID-19 community spread, in accordance with the Jefferson County Health Department.

 

More than six years after closing its doors, Sol Y Luna rises again. 

By Jan Walsh 

Restaurants come and restaurants go. But most never make a comeback. Sol Y Luna is not most restaurants. The original Sol Y Luna was founded and literally crafted in 1998 by greatly beloved and forever missed, Guillermo Castro. And when it closed the doors in Lakeview in 2013, loyal patrons, such as myself, grieved its loss just as they had its owner, “Guermo.” Tonight, I am also honored to be at the first seating of service at the new Sol Y Luna in Mountain Brook Village’s Lane Parke… I feel his presence in this place. 

galley and garden wine cellar Three Birmingham Restaurants Member Restaurants won awards: Galley and Garden, Seasons 52 Fresh Grill, and Village Tavern 

 

billy's english village closes Farewell Friend

Billy’s Sports Grill, English Village closes after 40 years. 

By Jan Walsh 


Due to inability to negotiate their lease at the English Village location, Billy’s Sports Grill, is set to close doors on July 14, after 40 years. Although a search was done for an alternate English Village location, it was not successful.

blueprint on 3rd strawberry shortcake Blueprint on 3rd celebrates first anniversary. 

 

By Jan Walsh 

 

Tonight, we are honored to be Dean Robb’s guests at Blueprint on 3d, seated at the head table. Time flies. So typically, I say, “seems like yesterday...” Yet it seems longer than one year ago, when we got our first taste of Blueprint—at their preopening family and friends’ dinner. Never seen a preopening dinner go as splendidly. From food to service this restaurant ran like a well-oiled machine from the start. 

Valentine Hotline

It's back! 

Birmingham Restaurants annual Valentines newsletter for 2019. 

Each time we add a Valentine's menu to the holiday menus and holiday events, we send Valentine Hotline subscribers an email with a link to it. Valentine Hotline newsletter also includes a link to all Valentine's Day menus. So you can compare and choose the perfect Valentine's dinner for you. 



Abhi Mountain BrookBuilding on Success

Abhi plans second location, in Mountain Brook. 

By Jan Walsh 


Abhishek (Ahbi) Sainju’s Abhi Eatery and Bar is expanding to Mountain Brook. He is currently working with a local architect and contractor to redesign and build out the former Avo location in Mountain Brook Village at 2721 Cahaba Road. Both Avo and its partner restaurant, Dram Whiskey Bar closed in December, after operating in this building for many years.  A spring opening is planned. 


galley and garden wine enthusiast 100 bestGalley and Garden named one of America’s 100 Best Wine Restaurants 2018 by Wine Enthusiast.

By Jan Walsh, Photography by Wine Enthusiast and Beau Gustafson 


My favorite table at the Galley and Garden is the chef’s table in the wine room. Here vintage, first class—and first growth—wines are displayed under lock and key, in wine cabinets with antique bronze screens in this 1,500-bottle capacity cellar. Thus, it was no surprise to me to learn that Galley and Garden is now being recognized nationally and internationally for its wine collection.

birmingham brunch bill mimosa bloody mary Cheers! Brunch Bill passes. 

Birmingham restaurants now serving alcohol on Sundays starting at 10 a.m. 

The Birmingham City Council voted to allow restaurants to begin selling alcohol at 10 a.m. on Sundays.

 

Blueprint on 3rd Dean Robb’s American brasserie will open this spring at The Pepper Place.  

By Jan Walsh

Birmingham Restaurants is proud to announce that Blueprint on 3rd will become our newest member. Restaurant profile is coming soon. But in the meantime, here's the scoop.

 Outstanding Restaurant and Outstanding Pastry Chef dolester miles outstanding pastry chef highlands bar and grill james beard outstanding restaurant

Congratulations to Frank and Pardis Stitt, and the team at Highlands Bar and Grill named Outstanding Restaurant by James Beard Foundation Awards 2018! And congratulations to Dolester Miles named Outstanding Pastry Chef 2018. 





pizzeria gm owners Pizzeria GM Now Hiring! 

 

GianMarco’s owners now hiring for new restaurant in Homewood. 

Apply at 600 Oak Grove Rd, Homewood, AL 35209. 

 

 

Dine Daily Dine Daily evolves from daily e-newsletter to social sharing service!

Ten years ago Dine Daily was first imagined. It was the idea of local Birmingham attorney, Charlie Waldrep. He called our publisher Jan Walsh saying how much he enjoyed Wine & Dine Weekly, our e-newsletter and wanted a daily version of it. 

Walsh and our Richard Phillips partnered to create the e-newsletter with a tagline of “Today’s Menus Delivered To Your Inbox,” with its own website.

marre and Allen under construction Coming soon to Birmingham Marriott! 

By Ross McCay 

Jan Walsh tours Birmingham Marriott's rejuvenation.

The restaurant is under construction with expected completion in early Summer 2017. 
Zagat's #1 Hot Food CityZagat rated Birmingham #1 in America’s Next Hot Food Cities list!

By Ross McCay 


Birmingham has received positive marks this year nationally from CNBC to the New York Times. Zagat continues that trend by naming Birmingham #1 in America’s Next Hot Food Cities list. It was ranked ahead of cities such as Oakland/Berkeley, Detroit, Asheville, Minneapolis/St. Paul, Nashville, Louisville, Durham, Phoenix/Scottsdale, and San Antonio. 



chez tonton shrimpBirmingham honors its most influential women in food. 

By Ross McCay 


Birmingham’s most influential women chefs, restaurateurs, caterers and food writers were honored on March 22, 2017 at Highlands Bar and Grill during Women's History Month. 
 

ocean cocktails Chef George Reis's Ocean Restaurant celebrates 15th Anniversary! 

By Ross McCay

Birmingham Restaurants isn't the only one celebrating a big anniversary this month. Ocean had a celebration for the ages with former chefs and bartenders from the past coming back for this special event to serve historic faves from the past and new dishes and drinks.

 

Frank Stitt recipeCongratulations to James Beard Foundation Awards Finalists: Highlands Bar and Grill and Pastry Chef Dolester Miles! 

By Ross McCay 

Highlands has been a Finalist for the Outstanding Restaurant Award for nine consecutive years. Miles has been a finalist for the James Beard Foundation Outstanding Pastry Chef two consecutive years. And she has been a Semi-Finalist the past four years.

Birmingham Restaurants 10th anniversary Birmingham Restaurants celebrates 10th Anniversary!

By Jan Walsh

On March 1, 2007, I launched BirminghamRestaurants.com. I was an unintentional pioneer back in the early (www) wild, wild, web days. In 2007 most businesses did not have a website, including restaurants. Twitter was less than a year old. And Facebook had become a public site less than six months prior.

Congratulations to Highlands Bar and Grill and pastry chef, Dolester Miles, named semifinalists for the 2017 James Beard Foundation’s culinary awards!

Eli’s Jerusalem Grill is now open at The Pizitz Food Hall!

chef abhi new restaurant

Abhi Eatery and Bar is officially open!

 

bistro 218 bar sommelier

Bistro 218 completes expansion. 

In December 2016 Chef Tom Saab expanded Bistro 218 by adding an adjoining bar into the space next door—doubling the seating capacity.

Chef Abhi Sainju opening MO:MO: at Pizitz Food Hall momo chef abhi

Nepalese dumplings and Vietnamese inspired sandwiches will be served daily from 11:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. at 1821 2nd Avenue North, Birmingham. Get a sneak peek of the menu here...

tumtum tree wine auction

TumTum Tree Foundation auctions wines to benefit Alabama’s children.

By Jan Walsh

Photography by Beau Gustafson 

The TumTum Tree’s Annual Charity Wine Auction Weekend directly benefits Alabama children’s charities. The charities include Magic Moments, Kid One Transport, Mitchell’s Place, The Red Barn, Alabama Center for Childhood Cancer and Blood Disorders, UAB’s Institute for Arts in Medicine (AIM), Glenwood Autism and Behavorial Health Center, and Angel Pillowcases.

Winemaker Dinners will be held on Thursday, November 3, at the following Birmingham Restaurants' Member Restaurants: 

Revana, Alexana, Corazon del Sol at Bottega - SOLD OUT
LIOCO at Galley and Garden - 25 Seats 
Vineyard 7&8, Retour - GianMarco’s - 40+ seats
Du MOL - Ocean - 50 seats 
Arrow & Branch - OvenBird - 12 seats
Fries Family Vineyard + Arkenstone - Satterfield’s - 40 seats


 


Taco Mama tacos Birmingham area Taco Mama locations join Birmingham Restaurants.

Taco Mama has three Birmingham area locations: Crestline Village in Mountain Brook, Homewood, and the newly opened Taco Mama at The Summit. 

frank stitt Frank Stitt at New York Times' Cities for Tomorrow Conference 

Frank Stitt was honored as a participant on a panel with Danny Meyer, the visionary restaurateur who raised the bar on service and hospitality in our country, at The New York Times Cities for Tomorrow Conference.

5 point duck sandwichChef George Reis creates a popular new dish.

The Naan Duck is brand new to the menu at 5 Point Public House Oyster Bar.

 

V3Announcing the Launch of Version 3 of Birmingham Restaurants, the original site launched in 2007 and has remained the most popular dining guide of Birmingham metro restaurants since that time. The new website features the latest technologies for faster load time, responsive views for mobile and tablets. Bon Appetit!